Mental Health Day

image

Unfinished diagram

I couldn’t go in to work today. That decline I was talking about was steep, and I need to take care of myself. Instead of squeezing, forcing, dragging myself through the gauntlet and trying to maintain my good name, I bit the bullet and texted one of my (three) bosses.

She said “Okay. See you Monday.” and I am feeling guilt. But, I need to not come in today, I need to take care of myself. Its the food thing I think; if I had kept the house clean and fed myself yogurts and cereals, I would have had more rocket fuel for this spaceship that is me.

The diagram that I made up this week is included in the picture at the top of this page. It’s got 4 quadrants,  each having four sections. It’s all about identifying the factors thst contribute to my overarching “moods”, as opposed to my here-and-now emotions.

I can handle, through sheer stubbournness, the breakdown of certain sections. At university, I managed almost the entire year with a disharmonious “personal ” quadrant. But, I got kind of weird towards the end and almost destroyed everything. Not good.

So, instead of lazing away today,  I’m going to get some more sleep (but not too much). Then, instead of drudging through a day at the office barely keeping it together and doing mediocre work, I will force myself to put some energy in to the quadrant that needs some attention and energy.

I’ll clean up even though I don’t want to, and I’ll do the dishes and laundry and listen to soothing music and go get my bank card and go get some fruit from the supermarket. That is going to be a task since I am much more inclined to sleep until the end of time, but I can’t justify taking the day off to be lazy.

Also it’ll be nice to have more time to check out my followers’ blogs more thoroughly, because I appreciate you guys!

I feel like this is a bad blog post. Kind of pointless and meandering. I’ll just press the button and go back to bed.

~ by A. L. Park on May 30, 2014.

5 Responses to “Mental Health Day”

  1. We all need those days. I’ve done it numerous times. Just one of those days where going to work could ruin relationships because of how you are feeling. There are sick days for a reason. They didn’t define sick as coughing or puking. Take the day, enjoy the day, enjoy the weekend, recharge yourself and tackle work on Monday.

    • 🙂 thanks for commenting. I am doing some stuff from home for them as well, so I feel way less guilty since I am still able to complete the work and help the business.

      • Oh I agree, We have work from home days as well. It’s an amazing benefit to have.

      • Would you consider it an essential accommodation that a workplace can offer for someone with Bipolar?

      • Never thought of it that way. But yes very great way to help team members. Bipolar people are very smart and if you can use your manic energy for good it’s even better.

Leave a Reply

 
