I Need You To Think About This.

Image

Here is an other perspective about why I am so thrilled about the second internship.

Because my voice will matter. 

 

That is something you should care about, because I care about you. Let me eschew modesty for one moment to tell you that I am a very empathetic, supportive, and kind person. I say this because I need you to know that I am a safe person to connect with, who won’t belittle you or question you or doubt you or do anything weird. So, that being said, here is my request.

If you have a mental “disability” like bipolar, will you please let me know what a workplace can do for you, or has done for you in the past, to accommodate your needs?

My own perspective is too limited for me to trust it entirely, and the kinds of people I am meeting and the kinds of tasks I am completing and the power that I have has the potential to open doors and make life easier for everyone in Canada with mental health issues who wish to be successful at work.

 

Please help me to help everyone, by sharing your ideas with me so that I may be the best bridge that I can be, for all of us.

 

Sincerely,

AP

~ by A. L. Park on May 30, 2014.

One Response to “I Need You To Think About This.”

  1. • When an employee has a significant other person who is a spouse or dependent, law and custom provide for the expectation that time off is sometimes needed.

    • But people with mental-health disabilities are more likely than the general public to have close ties to others with mental-health issues, such as: family members other than dependent children or elders; other residents of a group home or commune; closely interdependent roommates (or sharers of a homeless encampment); or alcoholics who sponsor / are sponsored.

    /Question/: For an employee with a mental or emotional disability, to what extent, if any, should an employer expect or allow absenteeism for the purpose of tending to nonspousal/non-dependent significant others? Is this an extra cost explicitly or implicitly understood by hiring managers, the way that potential motherhood is an extra cost affecting the relative hireability of younger women, or the extra costs associated with those who are obese, or smokers, or old, or or or?

Leave a Reply

 
