Write Where You Don’t Like

I don’t like Wal Mart. I hate the fluorescent lights and sticky floors and the mini McDonald’s by the front entrance with the teens behind the counter, and the middle aged managers keeping them on task.

So why am I writing this while sitting in the middle of all of it?

Because if I always write in the same low-lit nice-smelling calming environment,  my writing will always be safe and introspective and soft.

This environment is harsh. And sharp. It elicts a strong response from the depths of my being that says: “ugh, I don’t like this.”

That’s the feeling I’m using to fuel this writing exercise, this very blog post. If I were still im my room at home, I would be reading blogs and thinking about writing, but I wouldn’t start for hours and hours. I know myself.

Experiment with your feelings, use different ones as tinder for your fire, see if that helps shake up your writing or get through a blockage.

Or don’t,  and keep scrolling, endlessly, endlessly.

~ by A. L. Park on May 18, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
