Let’s Address the Fear

1468803_10152021291681539_397209707_n

“What’s stopping me?”

Today I wondered that while suspended in procrastination mode, twitching my pencil around my finger instead of writing with it.

Sometimes that’s the way that I write; I don’t. So, “What’s stopping me?”

Last year, I bought myself a “nice” journal. It’s square-shaped as a whole, and the paper on the inside is a rich creme with the barest hint of guide lines. It’s beautiful and I love it.

So why do I have a hard time writing in it?

In this journal I can’t scrawl, scratch, waste space or use more paper than I need to. I’m obliged to fill the pages with sensible, pretty language and coherent, thoughtful thoughts.

Compare that to what ends up in the cheap little notebook that I picked up from Shopper’s Drug Mart on a whim while out getting milk or makeup or munchies to bring home for mum and I, and the difference, to me, is huge.

But, I wouldn’t be able to write today, if I hadn’t ever written anything down then. It doesn’t have to be perfect, as long as I continuously improve, and edit ruthlessly.

~ by A. L. Park on April 23, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
